Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Hi and welcome back.

One of the simplest ways to change the look of an image is to just turn lights on or off.

The High Key style actor headshot went out of fashion a few years ago in my marketplace; however, I still do shoot it if the client wants it.  I prefer darker backgrounds, so the best way to quickly and efficiently do two looks with your client is to just turn the backlights off.

In this BTS shot, we can see the High Key headshot look all setup and shoot ready.

Key: SB910, Photoflex Shoot Through Umbrella

Fill: California Sunbounce Micro Mini, silver side

Back: 2 SB800’s with Large Rogue Flashbenders acting as flags

_DSC8829

So with my setup ready to go, I shot the High Key look:

_DSC8852 _DSC8865

Then, I went to a completely different look, more out of the actor high key to the model mid key look: just by turning my back lights off.

_DSC8874

Looking for a quick and efficient way to add looks for your client?  Just turn some lights off; it’s as simple as that!

That’s it for now.  Till next time, happy lighting!