Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Hi and welcome back.

I’m heading to Boston this weekend to teach The Headshot using all small flashes, but recently I’ve become addicted to natural light, natural beauty, and NO Photoshop.

Here is a pic I pulled from the archive that totally exemplifies that look.

Stacey worked for me a while back at a workshop and we shot in late afternoon sun.  This time of day, also known as the Golden Hour, is best shot right before, during, and right after sunset.

This shot was taken just as the sun dipped below the houses to camera left.  The light bouncing off of the sand, as we were on the beach, coupled with the cool background, produced a simple shot without any external modifiers.

When I shoot this kind of look, I choose these settings:

Aperture Priority between f/4 and f/5.6

ISO boosted to give me a good working shutter speed.  I have no issues going to ISO 1200 or more to get a shutter of at least 1/125 so everything is sharp.

Also, I’m into natural beauty.  This image had a contrast adjustment in Capture One and that is it.  NO PHOTOSHOP at all.

_DSC7853

While speed lights and strobes are awesome, why pay for and lug all that gear when natural light does the job every time!

That’s it for today.  If you are coming to Boston, I can’t wait to meet you!

Till next time, keep it natural!