Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Hi and welcome back.

Today we’ll look at keeping your mistakes.

When shooting outside in natural light with a reflector, I pretty much shoot in Aperture Priority and use Exposure Compensation to get the correct exposure.  I like to control my Depth of Field this way and always get great results.

However, you must be aware of your shutter speed.  If you shoot at f/5.6 and the light causes your shutter to be low, like 1/100 and you add 2/3 of a stop of exposure compensation, then your shutter may go to 1/60 which may not be fast enough.  So you need to be aware of that and adjust ISO from 100 to 200 or 400 to get a faster shutter to freeze the action.  Remember, you move, the client moves, the earth moves, so it is necessary to have a shutter speed fast enough to counter all of these movements.

Also, while this is not a RAW versus JPEG argument, always shoot in RAW as you can adjust your exposure up or down by up to 3 stops and save an image.

For today, I shot this natural light headshot of Shaza at Unique on Saturday.  I had left this station to set up another lighting station for the workshop attendees and came back to take a few more frames and didn’t change my exposure back to my original settings for this shot.

So this shot is about 1 stop overexposed:

_DSC8473 1

While I like the look, here is a screenshot of the image in Capture One Pro, my RAW converter.  You can see the clipped highlights.  While I am not concerned about the background, it is the face that is losing detail:

Screen Shot 2016-06-29 at 6.35.47 AM

But because I shot in RAW, I was able to pull back the exposure almost 1 full stop to correct the image:

_DSC8473

Now the image looks like the others in the set that were correctly exposed.  However, I though to myself, why correct it?  I like the overexposed high key look and as long as I like the image, why not try to keep it.

My solution and the solution I teach to everyone is that if you don’t like an image or have a mistake, swap the image to Black and White.  Black and White has a certain elegance that color lacks.  Without the noise of color in the way, black and white images reveal a beauty that sometimes color cannot.

I simply went to the Presets in Capture One Pro and chose a high contrast black and white conversion and voila, a beautiful high key black and white image that I fell in love with:

_DSC8473 2

By converting to b/w and pushing contrast a bit, I have this beautiful b/w image.

So for today, keep your mistakes.  Don’t immediately delete them as they may be able to be saved and turned into art.

That’s it for today.  Till next time, keep making mistakes!