Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Hi and welcome back.

I told you that I’d get so far behind that I’d catch up!

The last time I gave a tip, I taught you how to create an action.  Today, I’m going to show you how to Batch Edit using that action.

Batch editing is one of those PS tips that will change a lot for you.  No longer will you be editing images one at a time.  PS really shines here as you are free to do other things while PS works for you.

Ok, on to the technique.

Here is a screenshot of a folder of retouched images I got back from my retoucher.  On the right, you can see the size of the TIFF’s she sent me.  I send all RAW images out and get TIFF’s back so I can final edit and then send them out to my client.

Screen Shot 2016-05-06 at 8.04.34 AM

Now, go into PS and choose File>Scripts>Image Processor.

Here is where the batch editor lives.

Screen Shot 2016-05-06 at 8.05.57 AM

Here is the box that comes up.  I’ll go through each segment of it here:

  1. Select your folder from your computer; this is fairly self-explanatory
  2. Select your destination folder; I keep them in the original folder but you can move them to another folder if you want
  3. Select File Type for your final output; here you can choose to convert your images to Jpegs, Psd, or Tiff.  Your choice here depends on your final destination for the image.  I normally stick with Jpegs.
  4. Select your action to be run.  Here, I chose the action that I taught last time: Web Sharpen.

Screen Shot 2016-05-06 at 8.06.54 AM

Let’s take a look at my choices:

  1. I chose my folder: Greta Jones Retouch
  2. I save the edits in the same location
  3. I chose to convert my Tiffs to web jpegs, so I checked the Resize to Fit to 800px x 800px.  PS will automatically size the long side of the image and resize the short side, so your images will look like: 800 x 532 or something like that.
  4. Here, I chose to Run Action, Default actions as this is where my action is stored, and I chose Web Sharpen.  So as PS resizes my images it automatically sharpens them for output to the web.

Note: If you want to convert Tiffs to Hi Res jpegs, simple uncheck the Resize to Fit box and your Tiffs will become Hi Res jpegs instead.  Then choose Hi Res Sharpen from box 4 and your images are all set for print output.

Note: If you have other actions you want to run, like something from Kubota Tools, simply choose that action and your images will get converted using that action.

I’ve converted full folders to B/W using Totally Rad Actions Bitchen B/W or Kubota B/W Mid-Brite.

Here is the folder I chose:

Screen Shot 2016-05-06 at 8.07.05 AM

Once you are all set, click run: Screen Shot 2016-05-06 at 8.07.27 AM

Here is my folder now, with my newly-created folder of web jpegs.  If you look on the right, you’ll see my Tiffs still there.Screen Shot 2016-05-06 at 8.08.49 AM

Here is the new folder with my web ready jpegs, see the size of the images, they are not 72 mb but 4-500 kb sized for the web.  Screen Shot 2016-05-06 at 8.09.07 AM

I normally go back and then retitle the folder Web Jpegs.  Then I run the Scripts Manager again and change my Tiffs to Hi Res jpegs for print.

That is the Scripts Manager!  Let PS do the work for you while you get a coffee, go for a walk, or get lunch.  You can batch edit folder of hundreds of images all at once while you go and do something else.

I love batch editing and it works perfectly for converting images from Tiffs or Hi Res to Web images.

For tomorrow, creating an action for a Copyright tag on your images.

Till then, happy Batch Editing!