Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Hi everyone,

Friday got away from me, so I’m posting my tip today.

This tip is not on running batch edits; it is on sharpening.  I want to give you sharpening settings first and then this Friday I’ll show you how to create a sharpening action.  This is very helpful when processing images down from hi res to web ready jpegs.  I do this all the time.  I get back TIFFs from my retoucher and then process them using batch settings so it all gets done for me.

For hi res jpegs, here are my sharpening settings.

Go to the top of PS and select Filter>Sharpen>Unsharp Mask

In the settings box, use:

Amount: 85

Radius: 1.0

Threshold: 4

This is an excellent setting range for converting TIFFS to Jpegs or just sharpening hi res jpegs.  It is so good that you can run it twice if needed.

Screen Shot 2016-04-25 at 4.40.05 PM

Screen Shot 2016-04-25 at 4.40.33 PM

For Web Jpegs, change the settings to:

Amount: 150

Radius: .3

Threshold: 0

These settings work for the internet.  So if you are downsizing an image from a Tiff or a hi res jpeg to a web-sized jpeg, you need to sharpen for the web so the smaller file will look good on the screen:

Screen Shot 2016-04-25 at 4.48.42 PM

So hang on to these settings and on Friday I’ll show you how to create an action so all you need to do is load in your folder of images and have Photoshop do the editing for you.

Till then, keep sharp!