Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Hi and welcome back.

One of the great attributes of Photoshop is the ability to have it work for you.  I use Actions all the time to change the look of my images.  I rarely have the time to truly mess around with my images, so I use actions to do most if not all the work for me.

You can make actions yourself, more on that next Friday, or purchase them form Totally Rad, Kubota, Pretty Presets, or any of the action set manufactures out there.

I love actions as I can batch edit or convert images en masse.

Let’s take a look at the basic action setup:

Here is Photoshop with the image I want to work on.  In the upper right corner is the Action Palette Arrow:

A Screen Shot 2016-04-15 at 12.51.09 PM

B Screen Shot 2016-04-15 at 12.51.27 PM

See the arrow above.  You click on the arrow to reveal the palette.  Once the palette is up on the monitor, you can choose the action you want to run.  Here, I will use Totally Rad Action Bitchen Blacka and White for my instant b/w conversion.

C Screen Shot 2016-04-15 at 12.51.36 PM

But if I choose the little downward pointing arrow in the upper right corner of the palette, I can choose button mode.  This mode highlights my actions with colors and eliminates the two step process of choosing your action and then choosing to run it with the arrow above.

D Screen Shot 2016-04-15 at 1.00.04 PM

E Screen Shot 2016-04-15 at 12.51.52 PM

See how it is highlighted on the right in blue.  Click on Button Mode and you’ll get a nice set of buttons to run your actions: F Screen Shot 2016-04-15 at 12.52.13 PM

Now my Bitchen B&W action is ready to be clicked and the action run: one click service!G Screen Shot 2016-04-15 at 12.52.21 PM

Here is my image after the action has run.  Simple, easy, perfect:H Screen Shot 2016-04-15 at 1.03.56 PM

Here’s a before and after that only took a few seconds.  And if you don’t like it, drag and drop the action to the trash can and start over:

Untitled-1

Actions are a simple and easy way to convert or save simple adjustments for your images.  I have a 50% contrast adjustment, sharpening, and adding a copyright action that I built to save time.

I hope this helps and look for the next PS posts to be on creating actions and how to use them to batch edit your photos.

That’s it for now.  Till next time, happy processing!