Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Hi and welcome back.

Continuing with my food posts, I’ve been trying to shoot as much as I can.

Yesterday I shot my favorite breakfast: French toast.

I just whipped up 3 slices of my recipe:

2 eggs

Splash of half-and-half

Pinch of Nutmeg

1/4 teaspoon of Cinnamon

I preset my still life and then cooked.  The great thing about breakfast foods is that you can whip them up quickly.

Here is a finished shot on my painted background.  I took the yellow background from the post from the other day and painted it blue.  I just went over the yellow with the blue and when it dried I rubbed it down with sandpaper to give it an aged look.

I also pumped out some syrup to give it a bit of action.

_DSC2850

And here’s how I lit it.

I kept my key light in the same posting but added a 20º grid to light the top and open the deep shadows from the backlight.

Key: Phottix Indra 500, 36×48 Chimera softbox

Fill: tin-foil-covered white cards

Fill light: SB800, Godox S-Mount bracket, Phottix S-Mount 7″ reflector with 20º grid and one piece of wax paper gaffer-taped on to soften the gridded light

In hindsight, I think I would have used a 10º grid or a snoot to really tighten the spread of light and keep the second shadow off of the background.

_DSC2932 _DSC2935

Here are a few more images:

_DSC2861 _DSC2864 _DSC2875

I’m really ring to develop a style and shoot as much as I can in order to build a portfolio and get food work.

That’s it for now.  Till next time, stay hungry!