Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Hi and welcome back.

For today, I’m going to show you how to create a quick and cheap background for food photography, but you can apply this to any kind of background.

For my food work, I’m going simple.  I’ve been searching for a quick, cheap, and easy way to create simple backgrounds.

I went to my local Lowe’s and purchased a 32″ x 48″ piece of masonite beadboard for $10.00.  If you have the ability, cut the sheet in half; if not, have them do it at the home center for you.

_DSC2451 1 _DSC2452 1

Lowe’s has Valspar paint sample for about $3.00.  I picked up two, one a dark yellow and one a mint green.  Above the left panel is the yellow color:

_DSC2457 1

Grab a brush and put a coat of color on the board.  I don’t prime for a reason that I’ll get to next.

I want a slightly aged look to the backgrounds, so after the paint dries I use sandpaper to scuff the surface and bring out some of that white underneath.

I had a round 150 grit piece of sandpaper kicking around my garage, but you can use anything you have or just get a sheet.

_DSC2462 1

Once the paint is dry and sanded, I put it on my dresser/table in the garage and got my colors together and took the shot.

_DSC2582 _DSC2580

The sheet is 24 x 32 and has a slight antique look.  It is also the perfect size for food still life.  Here are a few other proofs.

_DSC2523 _DSC2534 1

Simple, fun, and easy to do, making your own backgrounds can be cheap and fun and only take a few hours.  Don’t like the color, simply paint over it and then re-scuff it with the sandpaper for a different look altogether.

So for about $14.00 with tax, I have two backgrounds I can paint and change up as needed for any color scheme.

That’s it for now.  Till next time, happy eating!