Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Hi and welcome back.

On day two of the PDN Photoplus Expo, I went commercial with my lighting looks.

In the first look, I did a two light commercial magazine cover on white.

Key: SB910, Rogue XL Pro with diffusion screen

Fill: SB800, Rogue XL Pro with diffusion screen

It is important to remember that this look, like the cover of a Cosmopolitan Magazine, is done with over and under lighting for key and fill.

The fill light is 1 to 2 stops less than the key in order to open the shadows on the bottom of the image but not overpower the exposure on the top.  If you have a bright or white floor, put a black or dark piece of fabric on the floor in front of the subject to absorb some of the light and not create too much light on the foreground.

Expoimaging Photoplus Expo Julie Dawson Friday 10 23 2015_0019

For my second look, I went with the three light triangle.  This looks like a ring light without the fuss and muss of a ring light.  You can see the triangular catchlight in her eyes.

Simply set all three lights into a triangle and set your power to the same setting, usually I start at 1/8 power for each light.

Keep in mind that the lower light may need to have the power lowered depending on how the light interacts with your subjects skin.

Key: 3 speed lights in triangle formation with Rogue XL Pros and diffusion screens

Expoimaging Photoplus Expo Julie Dawson Friday 10 23 2015_0028

For my last look of the day, I went with clean beauty with just two lights in the over and under or clamshell setup.

My key is set high and above and my fill is set below.  I shoot right in between the two lights.  You can see the over and under catchlights in Julie’s eyes.

Remember here too that you need to keep your fill light 1 to 2 stops below the key to control up shadows on the face.

Key: SB910 with Rogue XL Pro and diffusion screen

Fill: SB800 with Rogue XL Pro and diffusion screen

Expoimaging Photoplus Expo Julie Dawson Friday 10 23 2015_0383

Well that’s it for today.

You can do a lot with a little, and that is always my goal.

Till next time, happy shooting.