Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Happy New Year Everyone!

I’m glad 2014 is over and am looking forward to the prospects of 2015.

I plan on expanding my travel workshops this year, so stay tuned and be sure to get my schedule as I’m planning a whole bunch of new lighting techniques and workshop seminars.

Here’s to a happy, healthy, and profitable 2015.

Now to the first post of the year.

One of my passions in photography is getting great gear and teaching you how to use it effectively and in different ways.  So for 2015, look for gear reviews and a new Youtube page on lighting and equipment.

When you are first starting out or are looking to upgrade, sometimes we are forced to make decisions based on our budget, right?  I’ve made them and have made some poor choices on gear.

One of those choices was buying a reflector kit like the one here.  I set up my kit and within an hour I overtightened and broke the handle on the reflector arm.  These reflector arms are not very high quality and will not withstand any hard use at all.

Screen Shot 2015-01-01 at 9.59.25 AM

 

My solution is not cheap, but it will last your forever and gain you a short boom arm for any of your lighting needs.

I recommend trying a 40″ Hollywood Grip arm and extra 2.5″ Grip Head:

Matthews Grip Arm

Matthews 2.5″ Grip Head

Simply take a grip arm and mount it to a lightstand horizontally:

_RVH1525

 

Then take the extra 2.5″ Grip Head and mount it on the opposite end of the arm:

_RVH1526

Once you have this setup, simply unscrew the grip heads on either end of the arm and install the reflector.  Here I have a 32″ 5-in-1 collapsible:

_RVH1528

_RVH1529

Now, you can unlock the center grip head attached to the lightstand and rotate the reflector to any position:

_RVH1530

This is an incredibly sturdy way to attach a round or square reflector to a lightstand and give you the ultimate in versatility when shooting.

Here are some examples when shooting a headshot with my client Alyssa.

First, I did a simple one light shot with a reflector for a simple look:

_RVH7509 _RVH7514And then, within just a few seconds, I swapped this look to an over and under or clamshell style beauty shot:

_RVH7532_RVH7534The Hollywood Grip arm is a simple addition and accessory that can be used in a multitude of ways.  Just look at my lightstand on the right, a second grip arm is doing the heavy lifting of my strobe light and getting it up and out of the way for this simple shot.

Well that’s it for now.  Let’s get 2015 started and make it the best yet!