Tags

, , , , ,

Hi and welcome back.

Whenever I shoot in the studio, I also try and get outside and take advantage of natural light.  Truth-be-told, a great many of my clients prefer the natural light shots.

When we finished in the studio, I took Ely and my California Sunbounce Micro Mini outside for some fun natural light shots.

The reflector is the basic tool of any photographer and I use it all the time.  I set it high or low depending on the light I need to get on the face and then shoot, shoot, shoot!

I shoot all my natural light shots with a Nikon D3 and 105 f/2 lens.  I use Aperture priority set to F/4 and then adjust the ISO to get a fast shutter speed.

Here are a few finished files from our day:

_RVH2741_rt_web

_RVH2823_rt_web

_RVH2838_rt_web

If you look into her eyes, you can see the light bouncing around and wrapping Ely.  I just reflected some of it back into her face with the Micro Mini and voila!

All shots in Aperture priority, F/4, ISO adjusted for shutter speed, WB adjusted in post.

That’s it for now, happy natural lighting!