Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Hi and Welcome back.

As many of you know, teaching is a huge part of my business.  I travel the country running workshops on lighting with small flashes and strobe lights.

While I do teach in the group setting, the private workshop has become very popular.  It can be difficult to glean all the information you need in a large group setting, so I also work privately one-on-one or in small groups of 2-4.

Last Saturday I headed to the Art Factory, Paterson, NJ to work with an individual client.  Ernie had taken several of my workshops but found that he just wasn’t getting what he wanted or needed out of the group setting, so he hired me to work with him one-on-one.

I rented the studio space, hired professional model Richelle, professional hair and makeup, and Ernie brought all of his own gear.  Using my client’s gear is crucial to the process as it is what he owns and uses and may be different than what I use.  So this element is important so that Ernie gets the most out of our time together.

Ernie owns the new Profoto B1’s.  I’ve not had a chance to shoot with them till Saturday, and I have to tell you they are amazing.  They held there own for at least 500 shots at multiple power settings without losing a shot for 4 solid hours!  These are now on my Christmas list.

All the shots below are out-of-the-camera proofs, no retouching.

One look for the day was the classic beauty style headshot.

Key: Profoto B1, Beauty Dish with Sock, reflector is a California Sunbounce Micro Mini

Hair: 2 Profoto D1’s, 1×4 strip soft boxes with 1/2 CTO gels for a touch of warmth on Richelle’s hair

_RVH7824

_RVH7832

Our next look was a three light high key commercial fashion look.

Key: Profoto B1 with Beauty Dish

Edge and back: 2 Profoto D1’s with 1×4 strip softboxes

Note: I placed the strip soft boxes 3 feet from the back wall and 3 feet from Richelle.  This position gave me high key background and edge lighting on the model with just 3 lights.

_RVH7874

_RVH7881

For one of our last looks, I used the natural surroundings of the abandoned mill building to place a light outside to create the effect of light streaming through the window.

Key: Profoto B1 with Beauty Dish

Back: Profoto B1 with 7″  reflector

_RVH7898

_RVH7896

Many, many thanks to all involved:

Client: Ernie

Studio Rental: Taryn Truese

Model: Richelle Oslinker

Styling: Reena Shaw

If you want private instruction or instruction in a small group setting, don’t hesitate to contact me as I’m willing to travel anywhere!

Thanks and till next time, happy shooting!