Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Hi and welcome back.

One of the questions I’m often asked when on the road teaching is “What’s in your bag?”

Simply put, I pack my bag every time differently.  I’m always trying to streamline my kit so I’m efficient and only carry two bags, especially when flying.

For my trip to CA, here’s my kit:

My camera bag sees different configurations, but for this trip I’m adding a speedlight and subtracting a lens.  With my new sponsor Phottix, I’m leaving my PW’s home and taking  the Phottix Odin with me and a Strato II.  I’ve also added the new Phottix Mitros Flash.

  • Camera and spare battery
  • 35-70 mid range zoom for it’s compact size
  • 50mm
  • 4 flashes with diffusion domes
  • 3 battery packs as the Mitros doesn’t have a pack yet
  • AA batteries
  • Lacie 500 gb travel drive
  • Gray and black gaffer tape
  • Storage cards
  • Extra body and rear lens cap
  • Cleaning gear
  • Spare battery
  • Phottix Odin TTL and one Strato II
  • Light Meter
  • 3 umbrella brackets as I never like the event supplied ones
  • All the related wires to connect my laptop to TV’s/Monitors and a Tether Tools cable
  • Flashlight, card reader, misc. gels and lens filters
  • In the outside compartment goes my Laptop

That’s the base of the camera bag:

_RVH7953

But it gets better.  When on the road, you need to prepare for shooting a lot.  I’m booked in over the weekend, so that means as soon as I get back to where I’m staying, AA batteries need to be charged for the next day.

In my carry-on-sized luggage that goes into cargo, before the clothes and toiletries go in, I load this in:

  • Lumopro LP 605 travel light stand
  • Lumopro LP 633 umbrella bracket
  • Phottix double-fold umbrella
  • Rogue Flashbender XL Pro
  • Marmot waist bag I got on sale at Dick’s Sporting Goods
  • Two Ansmann AA chargers
  • 1 Nikon Battery charger

After all this, then the valuable socks and underwear go in:

_RVH7952That’s my travel kit for Pasadena.  I always try to be prepared for anything.

Like the American Express Card, there are some things I never leave home without.

That’s it for now.  Till I hit the ground in CA, happy packing!