Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Hi and welcome back.

I’m winding down the OCF posts tomorrow as I’m preparing to leave for the Pasadena, CA PPA convention this weekend.  Hopefully I’ll be able to post from CA without issue if there’s time.

For today, let’s look at the simple one light portrait using a Large Rogue Flashbender.

Before Expoimaging released the XL Pro this year, the Large was the biggest size available.  I used to use these as my key lights before the XL Pro stole me away!

In the BTS shot, you can see my key light high and above my subject.  If you ever take a workshop with me, you’ll know that I place my key light here often.  This changes the look of your images and gets you away from the traditional 45×45 key light placement.

This is also a commercial style of look that you’ll see on many magazine covers.

_RVH8869Stacey is placed directly in front of a white wall and I’m using white masonite boards from a home center for any and all fill I can get from below.  There are no other light sources here.

Gear:

Exposure: 1/125 @ f/5.6, ISO 200, WB Daylight

Nikon D3, 70-200 vr

Here’s the final right out of the camera:

_RVH8866

This is a very simple look to execute and you can use any color background.  I love the look and use my key light high and overhead a great deal.

That’s it for now.  Till next time, get that light high!