Tags

, , , , , ,

Hi and welcome back.

We are nearing the end of my two week OCF posting session, but maybe next week we’ll continue?  I need to find more images with BTS shots.

Ok, for today we’ll take a look at shooting outside.

Working outside is fun and can yield some great images.  But the problem with OCF is that it is not powerful enough to over power the sun, so you need to move into the shade.  But shade can present it’s own issues.  On a bright sunny day, OCF becomes more of a fill light that a dedicated key light.

In this image of Thalita, I moved her into the shade of this long sidewalk that’s lined with greenery.  I created a nice and simple graphic and had her far enough from the background for it to go soft and mushy but got nice sharpness on her.

I used a Lastolite 24×24 or 60cm x 60cm softbox with a speedlight.  The light from the softbox was literally a fill light as I could have shot natural light here in the shade but the fill gave me just a touch of shadow detail in her face, which is what fill light should be doing for you.

_RVH7899

The day was very sunny, but by posing Thalita in the shade, I was able to knock down some of the ambient light and use my speedlight as soft fill.  I got some shadow detail on her face which turns a two dimensional medium into three dimensions.  The light also helps to separate her from the background.

Gear:

  • Manfrotto 1052 BAC Lightstand
  • Nikon SB910 with SD9 Battery Pack
  • Matthews 40″ Hollywood Grip Arm
  • Lastolite 24×24 (60cm x 60cm) softbox
  • Pocket Wizard Plus III

Exposure: 1/250 @ f/4.5, ISO 400, WB Daylight

Flash: Manual Mode @ 1/2 Power

As you can see from my exposure, I had to play a bit.  I knocked down shutter to 1/250 but increased ISO just a bit to balance out the foreground and background.  You need to play a bit here to get the desired result.

Here’s a final:

_RVH7895Simple and effective lighting on location!

That’s it for now.  Till next time, get outside and shoot: it’s Summer!