Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Hi and welcome back.

I am consistently amazed at the kind of work you can do with simple gear.

For today, we’ll take one last look at the reflective umbrella.

In the BTS shot, I’m working still with Kaitlyn, the model from the last two posts.  I kept the light in the same position as yesterday, but I collapsed the umbrella over my speedlight to concentrate and control my light like a gridded softbox.

_RVH5051This is fun technique that changes the look of your image by just closing the umbrella.

Gear:

  • Manfrotto 1052 BAC Light Stand
  • Nikon SB910 and SD9 battery pack
  • Pocket Wizard Plus III
  • Savage Thunder Gray Seamless

Exposure: 1/125 @ f/5.6, ISO 200, WB Daylight

If you notice, my exposures have been consistent as well for this lighting scenario.

In the final, you can see the falloff, shadow detail on Katilyn’s face, and how the background is darker as no light hits it.

_RVH5043Keep it simple and get great results!

That’s it for now.  Till next time, keep shooting!