Tags

, , , , , ,

Hi and welcome back.

I freelance write for Shutterbug Magazine and the September issue hits the stands today.  My gear review article on the Expoimaging Rogue Flashbender Pro XL is in this issue.

In it I review the Rogue XL Pro system for small flash modification.  Don’t wait, get your copy right away!

Shutterbug

On to the post.

Continuing with the reflective umbrella, I want to show you how creative you can be by just moving your light source to one side.

In the next image of Kaitlyn, the model from yesterday’s post.  With a quick outfit change I took the moment to move my light from the 45 x 45 setup and just moved it to the side.

In the BTS shot, you can see how the light is nearer the wall and how the background gets a bit more light on it.

_RVH5041Just by moving the light to one side, I completely changed how it interacted with my subject.

Gear:

  • Manfrotto 1052 BAC Light stand
  • Photoflex 45″ Convertible Umbrella
  • Nikon SB910 and SD9 battery pack
  • Pocket Wizard Plus III
  • Savage Thunder Gray Paper

Exposure: 1/125 @ f/5.6, ISO200, WB Daylight

In the final, I had the model turn toward the light to get a beautiful soft and contrasty light.

_RVH5038I changed the look of my image just by changing my light position.

That’s it for today.  Till next time, keep changing!