Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Hi and welcome back.

First a workshop announcement:

I’m running my “One Speedlight, 16 Looks” workshop in my studio on Saturday, August 10, 2013 from 12-5 pm.

Where: Studio, 233 Boston Post Rd, Orange, CT

Cost: $100.00

Time: 12-5

Professional model supplied.

We’ll shoot 16 different lighting looks with just one speedlight and a few simple modifiers.  Come and join the fun!

My companion book is available from Blurb: One Speedlight, 16 Looks

You can email or call for details: 203-641-2880

Now on to the post!

Today we are going to look at working outside.  I love to get outside with small flashes as you can do so much and have total mobility.

Because speedlights don’t have the power of a strobe it’s best to move your subject into the shade and take your exposure from there.  You have to play, or chimp, if you are not using a hand held meter, but go for it!

Here, in the BTS shot, I’m working in Boston alongside an abandoned building.  In the background, you can see that it’s a bright sunny afternoon, but by moving into the shade I can get a good exposure:

_RVH6002Gear:

  • Manfrotto 1052 BAC Lightstand
  • Nikon SB910, SD9 Battery Pack
  • Pocket Wizard Plus III
  • Westcott Rapid Box

The light out of the Rapid Box is just amazing.  You can use it as a beauty dish or place the diffusion sock over it for a diffused softbox.  The light is creamy and soft and just perfect.

Exposure: 1/125 @ f/5, ISO 200, WB Daylight

Flash was set to Manual Mode @ 1/2 Power.  I don’t use TTL a great deal and normally stick with manual mode to get consistent power output.

Here’s a final:

_RVH6020Shooting outdoors is fun and you can do a lot in a short amount of time, especially with the mobility of speedlights.

That’s it for now.  Maybe I’ll meet you at my workshop!  Till then, get outside and shoot!