Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Hi and welcome back.

To get a shot like this, you need some gear:

Cassandra Wood Actor Headshots 6 5 2013 5127Heres a Behind-the-Scenes shot in my studio:

Cassandra Wood Actor Headshots 6 5 2013 5129We’ll start from the front and work our way back:

Sturdy tripod in the foreground

On the right is a posing mirror attached to a lightstand

Savage Tech Table with my laptop for immediate proofing and exposure adjustments

Key lights are two Lowe’s 4′ Shop Lights attached to my Avenger A420 stands

On each side of Cassie is an Impact Silver/White Reflector, silver side toward the model to bounce wrapping light around her

Background lights are 2 Profoto Acute E heads with 1×4 Creative Light Softboxes.  I use strip boxes so the light wrap and flare around the subject is kept to a minimum

I shoot this look at ISO 800, WB Daylight adjusted in post, 1/125 @ f/5.6-6.3 with my Nikon D3 and 70-200 lens.

Kino Flo lights are really the industry standard for lighting your subject this way, but 2 four bulb, four foot lamps will cost you about $3,000.00.  Not having that to spare, I found an online tutorial on how to make them yourself for about $200.00:

Joe Edelman

Or you can get these great, pre-bulit Grow Lights from HTG Supply in Orange, CT

HTG Supply

The HTG lights are pretty much ready to go out of the box and have better and consistent color temps on the bulbs than the shop lights.

That’s how I shoot the NYC/LA look actor headshot in the studio.

I love the look and the contrast and the overall feel of this lighting technique and have a ball shooting the Actor headshot.

That’s it for now.  Till next time, happy lighting.