Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Hi and welcome back.

For today, we’ll continue to look at OCF Technique.

This is my favorite shot from my Foto Care Workshop.  I wanted to use gels and not register any white or daylight from my flashes at all; I wanted all colored light:

_RVH4046For this shot of Cori, I used:

Nikon SB910, Rogue Just Blue Gel, Rogue XL Pro bent forward and down to maintain full front light and an overall fill in the room.

Nikon SB800, Rogue Red Gel, Rogue 45 degree grid for hair and background light.

Here’s the setup:

_RVH4056Here’s the setup with a test shot to make sure exposure was good and the room was filled with blue light:

_RVH4055I set my exposure to underexpose just a bit to add saturation and contrast for he colored gels:

Nikon D3, 50mm 1.8, 1/125 @ f/5.6, ISO 200, WB Daylight.

That’s it.  It was a simple two light setup but I eliminated all the clean white light from my flashes with the Rogue Gels.

One of the things I love about Workshops is that I can explore my creativity.  I’ve never had a client ask for this look, but with a captive audience I got something for my portfolio while also teaching it.

That’s it for now.  Till next time, happy gelling!