Tags

, , , , ,

Hi and welcome back.

I’d like to wish everyone a Happy Easter and Passover season.  It is a beautiful time of year to spend with family and friends.

Now the natural light portrait.

Even though I’m deeply involved in Off Camera Flash and regular studio lighting, I do use natural light.  But you need to learn how to use and modify it for your need.

The following images are direct raw to jpeg conversions without any processing.  I want to show the direct, raw difference between modified light sources.

For a short series of portraits, I used natural window light in my studio.  Here’s my setup:

Here’s the resultant shot from this setup:

The light is hard and contrasty.  While this can be a desired result, more often than not it isn’t.  So I added a white sheet over the window to diffuse the light a bit more:

Now, here’s the resultant shot from adding that bit of diffusion:

By simply adding the sheet, I added diffusion and a softbox-type glow to the image.  This is a more desirable result that I did simply and easily.

So add a white sheet to your kit and you’ll be pleasantly surprised at the difference in your natural light photography.

That’s it for now.  Till next time, happy shooting.