Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Hi and welcome back.

Recently Stacey came in for some portfolio shots.  She wanted something in the pinup style, so we decided on something easy and colorful to fit the shoot.

I shot against a white backdrop and used one speedlight.  Normally I would use white seamless paper, but the walls of my studio are painted white so I purchased 2 white masonite boards from Lowe’s in 4′ x 8′ sheets and put them on the floor and up to the wall.  Honestly, I was sick and tired of buying seamless paper.

Usually, white needs to be lit separately, but I tried a new technique.  I used one SB900 into a shoot through umbrella to light the entire scene with a flat, soft, direct light.

Here’s an initial shot, notice the perfect exposure on Stacey but the gray back ground, also notice the color difference between the wall and the masonite on the floor:

Because white really needs to be lit separately, the entire background is gray, but with  one click in Photoshop, I processed the final image to this:

I brought the initial image into Photoshop and brought up the Levels Layer, then I chose the White Dropper and clicked on the upper right corner of the image.  This took the gray background and did a one click adjustment on the whites, which turned the gray to white and increased saturation and contrast.

Here’s the original:

Here’s the correction:

With one click, I adjusted and created the perfect white seamless paper backdrop.

Here’s the behind-the-scenes shot:

And a few more from the sitting:

Equipment list for this shot:

Nikon D3, 50mm 1.8

Manfrotto 1052 BAC Lightstand

Manfrotto D520L 40″ grip extension

Manfrotto D200 grip head

Pocket Wizard Flex

Photoflex Shoot Through Umbrella

Matthews 10pd Boa Shot Bag

Nikon SB900, with SD9 battery pack

That’s it for now.  I’ll try and post more often.

Till next time, happy shooting!