Hi and welcome back.

As you may or may not know, I teach Digital Photography at the Adult Ed level in Milford.  I love teaching adults as they have the wherewithal and eagerness to learn all aspects of the medium.

Last night was my advanced digital class, and I took them outside to lightpaint.  If you are unfamiliar with this technique, you just set a long exposure in a dark area and bring out the highlights with a flashlight.  For these photos I used a Brinkman 2 million candlepower light to illuminate the building from different angles.

This is Foran H.S. in Milford last night.  The first exposure was our initial test exposure, the second exposure is the lightpainting technique.   In the first set of photos, I’m lightpainting from behind the new addition; in the second set of photos, I’m lightpainting from in front at the camera angle of view.

You can also take multiple exposures and then in Photoshop merge them to make a composite.  I used a little dodging and burning in the trees and foreground to add just a touch of interest and open the shadows a bit.

Lightpainting is a fun and cool technique.  Don’t get discouraged if it takes more than a few frames to get some decent shots.  It is a total trial and error technique.

For tomorrow, Candy Land.  Want to join us as our model gets creative hair and makeup and is surrounded by candy props, just drop me a line: rvh34@hotmail.com

That’s it for now.  Till next time Happy Shooting!